Case study taken August 2023

How did you start a career in care and what initially attracted you to the sector?

A family member introduced me into care, something which I had never done before. Before care, I was working at a fun fair and decided I needed a change in career – 6 years later I’m still here!


Could you give some details about your current job role and what it involves?

I am currently a team leader which I have progressed into during my 6 years of working in care. In my role I take on responsibilities such as auditing with my manager, dealing with medications, participating in supervisions, and filing notes when needed.


Does your role involve any direct care or personal support with clients?

Now that I am team leader, I don’t tend to do much personal care anymore. However, I do try and go out with the support workers when I can. It all depends on my workload, if paperwork increases then I tend to just guide the support workers out on the floor.  


What training have you completed in your care career so far, and is there any other training that you would be interested in completing in the future?

I’ve completed lots of training over the past 6 years including ADHD and mental health training. I am also currently doing my NVQ. My future goal is to educate myself to a manager’s level, so any training that can help me progress to that would be very beneficial.


What support have you received from your line manager and team?

I have received loads of support from both my manager and team. I may even be moving services soon to progress my career further and I couldn’t have done that if it wasn’t for the support of my manager. We have an amazing team here.


What do you enjoy most about your role?

For me, it’s the fact we put the clients first, as that’s why we are here really. Being able to support someone to live as independently as possible is a nice feeling.


What do you find the most challenging part of your job?

Every day is different so the challenges can differ. Sometimes it can be hard when you have a person who has behaviour that challenges, but all they need really is a little bit of guidance. Occasionally, when they don’t listen, I’ll think to myself “have I failed them?” which can be a little upsetting, but then you try again and keep going for them.


What are your hours of work and how does this fit around your personal life?

I work full time hours so around 40 hours a week. However, I have opted in to doing more because I enjoy it so much. I usually work Monday to Friday alongside my Manager, but occasionally I will cover a weekend if required.

My current working hours fit perfectly with my personal life and the company tend to be very flexible if you’ve got things going on or need some time off.   


In your day-to-day role, how do you enable clients to live as independently as possible?

We help them with basic day-to-day responsibilities such as supporting with finances and keeping their homes tidy. Our aim is always to support them as much as possible, but not to do it for them – I think that’s really important.


What would you say to someone considering a career in care?

Go for it and don’t knock it until you try it. I got told that I wouldn’t be able to cope or last long in this sector but 6 years down the line I’m still here!


Would you like to progress in your career? If so, what would you like to do next?

I would like to eventually become a manager, so my first step would be progressing to the deputy manager role. I want to continue developing my skillset to reach the higher levels and maybe eventually have a service of my own!

Want to find out more?

Find your job in care!